Fidelity, Nuveen and Charles Schwab among our big award winners

JPMorgan, American Funds, Ascensus, and American Beacon’s Gene Needles also took home trophies

Fidelity Investments, Nuveen, and Charles Schwab Investment Management were among the big winners at this year’s Mutual Fund Industry and ETF Awards.

The awards ceremony, now in its 26th year and held at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York on April 11, saw around 450 guests gather to honor the top achieving firms and individuals across the sector.

To kick off the night, Fund Intelligence Managing Editor Paul McMillan presented Charles Schwab Investment Management’s recently retired CEO Marie Chandoha with the Fund Action Lifetime Achievement Award.

Rich Redeker, the recently retired chair of the PGIM Investments Fund Family, won the Fund Directions Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Perkins Coie partner Carl Frischling.

Fidelity took the prize for Overall Ad Campaign of the Year, for its Fidelity Rewrites the Rules of Investing work, which was also awarded best Out of Home Ad Campaign of the Year.

Nuveen won Video/Digital Ad Campaign of the Year, while the firm’s CMO Marty Willis won Fund Marketer of the year.

Other winners in the marketing categories included JPMorgan Asset Management, who won Content Marketer of the Year, and Gerstein Fisher’s The Q Factor, which won Podcast of the Year.

Sales Success of the Year – Mutual Funds went to American Funds’ equity fund line-up, with JPMorgan’s Hedged Equity Fund (JHEQX) highly commended in the category.

Ascensus scooped the Retirement Leader of the Year Award, while Pax World Funds won Fund Innovation of the Year for it’s The Pax Ellevate Global Women’s Leadership Fund (PXWEX).

Gene Needles, the CEO and Chairman of American Beacon and parent company Resolute Investment Managers, won Fund Leader of the Year, while Invesco’s acquisition of OppenheimerFunds won Deal of the Year.

Joel Motley, chair of The New York Board of Trustees of the Oppenheimer Funds, won Trustee of the Year, with Invesco Funds board director Robert Troccoli winning Newcomer Director of the Year, and Northern LightsJohn Palancia winning Small Board Trustee of the Year. Sullivan & Cromwell‘s John Baumgardner won Independent Counsel of the Year.

ETFs from DWS, Ark, WisdomTree, PGIM Investments, Invesco, ImpactShares ETFs, Flexshares, Vesper Capital Management, SPDR, New York Life Investment Management, Innovator ETFs, Global X, Salt Financial, and Charles Schwab Investment Management were all awarded in our ETF categories.

Click here to read about all our rising star winners

Click here for a full rundown of all our shortlisted firms, the winners and our independent judging committee